Hong Kong · life in HK

Sniffles, sore throat and a sprain.

This week has been a whirlwind of illness. As the weather seems to be getting cooler here in HK, lots of people are getting ill and unfortunately, I am one such victim. It doesn’t help that the boyfriend was also ill the week before so whilst I probably got it myself from the change in seasons, the chances of me getting ill were slightly raised from spending time with him.

It all started off with painful sinuses on monday, once that had started I knew I was going to fall ill. I had some deadlines to meet that week so I ended up staying in the lab until 8:30pm before going home, even though I knew it probably would not help things. I was correct. That night was one of the worst nights of sleep I have had in a while and I feel sorry for my roommate who had to put up with me tossing and turning and coughing all night.

By tuesday I was a sniffing, coughing mess, walking around the flat like a zombie. I took a quick trip to the University Health Centre and was seen by the doctor who told me I had tonsilitis along with the flu and so was given medicines before going off on my way. Tuesdays, for those of you that don’t know, are my worst days of the week. I have class from 10:30am – 9pm with only 1 hour long breaks in between the class for me to have lunch and dinner. The medicines I got given were drowsy meds so after taking them, I was even more zombie-like and thus decided to take the day off. There was not much I could do in that state and I risked infecting everyone if I left my room.

Wednesday I wasn’t much better but I had an update meeting scheduled with the Prof, so I had no choice but get up and go to lab. Thankfully the talk only lasted just over an hour and I was able to leave by around 4pm. It was then that I decided it would be best for me to return to my parents home, where I would be able to rest properly and have someone to take care of me.

For the rest of the week I rested back at home, which was so nice and makes me extremely grateful for having my parents there to take care of me, make me food, make me drinks. When I was coughing throughout the night they would get up to make me a drink (even at 4am) to try to help me be able to go to sleep. I feel bad that I was probably keeping them up all the night with my constant coughing, but I am just glad that they didn’t seem to be annoyed and conversely were more worried about me.

I returned back to Uni for the weekend, hoping to do some work in the lab to make up for not being in during the week but I still wasn’t completely better so decided against it. I still have a sore throat even now and my voice sounds strange, but all-in-all I’m better.

Instead, just as I am getting better, the boyfriend sprained his ankle last night, leaving him hobbling around like an old man. It’s a shame that I can’t take care of him properly as he doesn’t live on campus, but at least I can try to make him feel better when he is here. I am just thankful that I am better now as otherwise I probably wouldn’t be able to care for him as much as I want to. Time for me to show off my kind, caring, girlfriend skills…;)

2 thoughts on “Sniffles, sore throat and a sprain.

  1. Hi! Omg. This is really random. I found you through a Mike Bow youtube comment, your username jumped out at me. I just subscribed to your channel, lol. SO GLAD to stumble upon another Asian female chemistry person on the interwebs. I’m in San Diego, CA. I myself am getting a Masters in Geochemistry. Looking forward to reading your blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

