Friends

Positive Positive Positive

That’s what I tell myself I have to be everyday. Why? Well, why not?

Sometimes life throws you curve balls, you could be smiling and happy one day, then confused and frustrated the next. I’ve been like this recently- there have been things on my mind, uni stuff, research stuff, personal stuff, relationship stuff.

I’m sure those of you that know me are familiar with one of my worst traits – my inability to de-stress.

I’m stressed constantly, about everything and anything. This doesn’t mean that I’m always sad, in fact quite the opposite, I love my life and I love how it is going, but I just can’t stop myself from worrying that I am not making the most of it. I want to be successful, I want to be better, to aim higher, to achieve more, to know more.

Having so many goals means I am setting myself up for failures that will inevitably happen. Failures that I don’t take well. I expect myself to achieve quickly, to get results quickly but that doesn’t always happen. I get frustrated that I’m going nowhere, even when I’m putting in the work – why am I still stuck and unable to pull myself out of this void?

The answer to this I already know- it’s just the way life is. Hard work doesn’t mean you will see the fruits of your labour straight away. Hard work is constantly working, even when the end is nowhere in sight, because you know that you’ll succeed eventually. You may not succeed the first time, the second time, or even the third, but try try and try again and one day- that’ll be you that’s getting out at the other end.

Being positive is knowing that sometimes life will throw shit at you, but you know what? Shit’s a part of life. You deal with it and move on.

Sometimes I forget this and I fixate on the shit, I panic the moment it is thrown, before it even lands on me, before it even affects me, but I know that it’s not the right way to deal with it. Instead, I have had to rely on the people in my life to guide me through these panic attacks and bring me back down to earth.

Its thanks to these amazing friends, seniors and family, not only here in UST and HK, but in the UK too and even an adorable girlie in France that I have remained as strong as I am today. To top it all offย I have a wonderful man in my life to help turn my frown upside down when I need it most. I couldn’t ask for a better bunch of people to pick me up when I’m down and remind me that there is a positive side to everything.

So here I am, reminding YOU that when life gives you shit, share it with your friends- you’ll find it a heck of a lot funnier.

2 thoughts on “Positive Positive Positive

Leave a Reply

