Friends · Hong Kong

Making friends in HK!

One of my greatest fears about moving to HK was that I wouldn’t make friends, or I wouldn’t find people that I would click with. Thankfully, I no longer have this fear as I have met lots of lovely people in the past few weeks that I have been here.

For those that are embarking on a journey abroad, or even just want to make new friends in your current town and don’t know how to start meeting people, I would fully recommend the website www.meetup.com.

This website has lots of different groups that may match your interests and I have already been to 2 groups in HK and both groups have been extremely fun and welcoming. I have been able to meet and chat to all sorts of different people, people that I otherwise would not have had a chance to speak to.

The first group that I joined was an introverts group. This was actually the perfect group to start with as it was a small group and we went ice skating (meaning we didn’t have to have too much small talk and could focus our efforts on not slipping on the ice) and then for some light refreshments afterwards. It was really nice to chat to a small group of people without being overwhelmed by lots of people and having to mingle with different groups. Everyone had a chance to chat and get to know one another and everyone was incredibly friendly. This really helped me to build my confidence to meet more people, as sometimes I can go into my shell a bit when I meet people for the first time.

The second meetup that I went to was a treasure hunt in HK and it was definitely one of the most fun (and tiring!) things that I have done in my life. It was so much harder than I expected but it was so much fun and my team were extremely competitive, which is probably why we ended up winning. For anyone planning on joining the treasure hunt, my advice is to bring running shoes, wear loose fitting sports clothes, a portable battery charger, bring plenty of water and a towel (to wipe off the sweat), have a few locals on your team that know the area well and bring a full can of deodorant so you don’t stink out the MTR when you go home later that day.

I was quite worried that I would actually faint at one point during the hunt as we had been running in the intense heat in HK and for those of you that don’t know, I have fainted in HK before (although not because of the heat). I have quite a bad history of fainting(even in the UK!), but I really wanted to win so I kept going and thankfully I didn’t faint at any point. My team were really great, equally competitive and we worked really well as a team and I think that really helped us to win. The other teams did great too and it was really fun when we bumped into the other teams during the hunt and some of the guys would exchange some rather hilarious disses.

The treasure hunt was yesterday so I’m still recovering today (It’s been a while since I’ve done so much running around…) and I had a dream last night about running as well…I think all the running is going to haunt me for a while XD

I’m really looking forward to my next meetup though and can’t wait to meet even more people and make more friends, but don’t worry my UK friends, I won’t forget you! πŸ™‚

7 thoughts on “Making friends in HK!

  1. Underlying fear caused by a new environment, sport, heat, possibly low blood pressure (do you take a low-salt diet?) it seems like you’re planning for a faint :p
    It happened to me, and I’m a guy :-s

    1. Haha, I’m actually surprised that nobody out of all the 60 or so people that played fainted. It was so hot and humid, it felt like we were running around inside a sauna. It was like a suffocating heat. XD I’m just glad I didn’t embarrass myself by fainting though…although I probably already embarrassed myself by the beetroot shade of red that I turned from doing all that exercise and the heat…VERY unattractive >_<

    1. Haha, I doubt that, if I was a guy, I wouldn’t go out with me looking like that XD Haha

      The prize we won at the end was a very cute hello kitty fruit bowl type thing, very yummy, we shared it with everyone in the other teams too XD

    1. Aw thanks! πŸ™‚ HK is great! I haven’t actually been able to go shopping properly yet but planning on doing some shopping this week haha XD

      Loved your post! You did lots in HK! XD I have been here almost 3 weeks and I’ve still done barely anything haha XD I’ll have at least 3 years to do everything though so I guess it’s OK πŸ˜›

      Bex xx

Leave a Reply

