Uni

Degree results and the start of graduate life!

We finally got our results- YAY!

I’m pleased to announce that I am now the holder of a 2:1 (Second class upper honors) Masters in Chemistry with a year in industry!

I was very worried and as you can imagine, extremely stressed on the day of results. This was made worse by the fact that we had 2 x 1 hour meetings starting at 10:30 until 12:30, then results weren’t scheduled to be released until after 3pm! This meant a long grueling wait before we would be told what all our hardwork had come down to. Everyone in the class was extremely stressed, but once results were released, everyone did extremely well. I imagine there may have been a few disappointing results but on the whole, my whole MChem class did extremely well.

This is the grade that I needed for my PhD so it means I am confirmed for my PhD place! YAY!

It’s a very odd feeling to have finished my degree, I don’t think it hit me that I was finished with my undergraduate degree until I finally got my results. The period between the end of exams and results day, I felt like I was in limbo, with no real idea of what was going to happen next. Now that I have my results, I can start planning properly and getting excited about my PhD in HK!

I was so excited last night that I could barely sleep, even though I haven’t even had my graduation ceremony yet and my move to HK isn’t for another 3 weeks time!

I made myself a list of things to do today now that I have finished my degree and I managed to get through the whole list before lunchtime which was impressive, even for me! One of the first things I wanted to do was go to the Doctors and make sure I have everything sorted for my move and check I don’t have any illnesses that I will need to be aware of etc. Thankfully all my checks came out fine, so I can go to HK knowing that I am as healthy as can be- that’s a good start!

It’s very scary but equally exciting to finally be a graduate, there are so many possibilities of how my future will shape itself, but I’m sure things can only get better from here!

4 thoughts on “Degree results and the start of graduate life!

  1. Congratulations on your success! I am still during my Masters right now. I’ve been feeling very stressed about not being about to pass all my classes and earn my degree. But this gave me a bit of motivation. I can’t wait to graduate as well. Just 1 more year for me. Good luck!

  2. Woo super congratulations to you! I’m very proud of you and sad that I couldn’t witness the moment haha 🙂 Have a good few weeks before graduation and I can’t wait to visit HK 😛 xx

    1. Yeah I can’t wait to see you again and show you around hk hehe 🙂 thanks! I can’t believe it’s gone by so fast, I only have 3 weeks left before I am in hk! 😮 xxx

Leave a Reply

