Uncategorized

Secrets of a Call Centre Agent!

Working as a call centre agent in college, I came across a lot of very horrible people on the phone. It was a job that I hated but loved at the same time.

I loved when I was able to turn a bad situation around and make an angry or unhappy customer happy by the end of the call, but sometimes I felt like I didn’t get paid enough to be spoken to and sworn at the way that I did.

People can forget that the person answering the call is just an employee, not the CEO of the company, nor god. We have to abide by all the rules of the company and most of the time, our hands are tied. We aren’t being difficult for the fun of it, it is because there is literally nothing we can do.

Not only this, but we also have goals set by the company:
– Call times need to be within a certain time frame, and longer and we get reprimanded (but what the people higher up don’t know is that sometimes it is necessary for a longer call to give the best customer service and to fully solve the customers problems)
-We weren’t allowed to call customers back (as this costs the company money, although if you think about it the other way round, the unhappy customer will be even more unhappy at having to spend money calling us.)
-We had key words that we were not allowed to say/tell customers

I personally would go above and beyond to help my customers, I knew how to phrase my words to get the answers I needed from them and I didn’t look at cutting my talk time down – I wanted to have their problem solved by the time they put their phone down. I even called back customers (even though I shouldn’t) and when our online systems were down, I came off my lunch break early to contact customers once it was back up.

At the end of the day, the call centre agent is doing their job, there will always be good ones and bad ones, but most of them are trying to help, so next time you call up a call centre, try to understand that being rude to them won’t help. Be nice and they’ll work harder to please you.

One thought on “Secrets of a Call Centre Agent!

Leave a Reply

