Family · Friends

Clearing out my memories

As I’ll be moving to HK soon, I’ve been throwing quite a lot of stuff away and giving stuff to charity. I can’t take a lot of stuff back and lots of my stuff I probably won’t use anyway, so I thought I might as well have a fresh start in HK with new stuff. One of the things that I have been putting off sorting through is my memory box. I actually have 3 boxes full of stuff from my life, things like old cinema stubs, cards, love letters, presents etc that I wanted to keep as memories however now that I’m moving away, I’ve decided it’s time to let go.

2014-06-02 17.05.48
My 3 Memory boxes

It was actually quite nice to go through these boxes and have a look at some of the things I got up to in my childhood, I had lots of pictures and things from secondary school, I even read some of my diary from my teens.. Oh gosh that was embarrassing. It’s so cringey when you read back on what you wrote when you were young. Haha I thought I was so cool back then 😛

Here are some of the funniest extracts from my diary:

Hahaha I was a high achiever in school, but now that I'm at uni I would love to get 79% :P
Hahaha I was a high achiever in school, but now that I’m at uni I would love to get 79% 😛

My handwriting was awful back then! 2005..so I was 13! Oh gosh.. this was back in the day when I thought it was cool to make my a’s look like a, rather than the normal a’s that most people use when we write. Thankfully my handwriting is a lot nicer now!

You can almost feel the anger I felt here!!!
You can almost feel the anger I felt here!!!

Everyone gets those days when they are going through puberty where they hate their family right…?!? This page made me laugh so much. I can’t even remember what Ray did to me but whatever it was I was very angry!! I love that I still sign my name at the end though hahahah

I didn’t include the bit above this because I wrote some quite hurtful stuff about my dad which made me a bit ashamed that I ever thought those things, no matter how angry and immature I was. I’m sure everyone goes through a stage like this though where you are too old to throw a tantrum but too young to understand that life doesn’t always go your way. Thankfully I (hope) am more mature now! 🙂

Some of the things that didn't make the cut. Bye bye fond memories
Some of the things that didn’t make the cut. Bye bye fond memories

After throwing out a lot of old cards, love letters (it took me a while to let go of these as whilst I won’t ever get back with the people that gave me these heartfelt presents, it still has a place in my heart as each and everyone of these relationships taught me something- whether it be who I should never go out with in the future, to how to make a relationship better.), I finally got all of my memories down to just one single box.

These memories are for keeps!
These memories are for keeps!

I only just managed to make it all fit in one box. Which means that when I go to HK I will need another box for new memories! ^_^ As you can see I had to wrap some of my stuff in paper as I’m worried that some stuff will get broken during the moving process, but hopefully it’ll be safe in my box 🙂 I’m looking forward to making new memories in HK, but I’m glad that whenever I get homesick or miss my friends, I have this box of stuff to look back into and remember the good times 🙂

2 thoughts on “Clearing out my memories

Leave a Reply

