Family

Love doesn’t age, though your body might.

Those of you who have read this blog know how close I am with my family. We share just about everything- there is no topic that is restricted. When I say share, I mean talk about.. not literally share… :/

Today was no different. Dad and I talked about sex for older people(don’t ask me how we got onto this topic). Dad was telling me that contrary to popular belief, old people want it just as much as young people. I can understand that, I mean just because your body is aged doesn’t necessarily mean you don’t still find pleasure in things. Dad was saying that in HK, or in asia, where people tend to be a lot less open and more conservative about things, people don’t tend to talk about sex and things like that so it can be difficult to have a ‘good’ sex life when you’re older. Old age comes with physical problems, so even though you might want it, you might not be able to do it, and because people don’t want to talk about it, if they have erectile problems or if the woman has problems, they might not say anything or go to the doctor about it.

Some people think old people shouldn’t be doing things like that anymore, but why not?! They’re in love and that’s what lovers do.

I personally love it when I see older couples in town walking hand in hand and I saw a very cute picture on my FB today:

The caption on it read: I’m mad at you but I still love you.

This picture represents everything I believe about what love is. It’s growing old together, and even though you have your tiffs and arguments ultimately you care for the other person and all you want is for them to be happy.

We actually talked about this topic over dinner (we strangely have quite deep and mature talks over dinner) and whilst we were being very adult about it, there were times when I hesitated to say certain things or the two of us giggled in embarrassment. I love that I can be so open and honest with my family as being able to talk about things just shows how close we all are. When I see how my mum and dad interact it makes me feel warm and happy inside to know how loving my parents are to each other. They didn’t get married out of love (They told me themselves, it was a marriage of convenience) but they most definitely fell in love once they were married.

To my brother and sis-in-law to be, who have recently got engaged, I hope that they can grow old together happily and that their love can blossom just like mum and dads did when they were married. I also want some nieces/nephews soon please! 🙂

To the guy that I will grow old with- can we find each other soon please?!

Leave a Reply

