Family · Weekend

An appointment with Dr. Google

I’m sure I’m not the only one that always makes an appointment with Dr. Google whenever I feel ill right?

I’m not sure if its actually a good thing to have so much information on the internet that is so easy to find because whilst it allows us to gain more information, sometimes the information is incorrect or does not apply. Google is not a substitute for a real doctor and this is something I need to keep telling myself before I get scared I have cancer or some other disease every time I am unwell.

For my current ‘ailment’ I have actually been worried about this for a long time and have been told by a chinese doctor in HK that I should get checked out for a particular disorder that would explain a lot of my symptoms. I have also been told by friends that I should at least get it checked out for my own piece of mind. I never went to the doctors to ask about it in the end partly because I hate going to the doctors and partly because I’m actually afraid I have it.

It sounds silly that I don’t want to hear I have it even though I think I do, but the uncertainty means I can convince myself I don’t have it.(Confusing, no?!) I would also need to have a blood test to check for this condition and I HATE needles! I don’t think I’ve ever had a blood test- at least if I have I don’t remember…so the thought of having to have a blood test scares the hell out of me!

So, cue the appointment with Dr. Google. According to Dr. Google- I pretty much have all the symptoms that this condition has and I have just about convinced myself now that I have this condition.

I have spoken to my mum because this is a hereditary condition but my mum says she doesn’t have any of the symptoms and since the condition affects getting pregnant, my mum is sure she can’t have it as she had me and my bro pretty easily (well done dad….:/)

About 10 minutes ago, just before I started writing this post I was on the verge of tears because I was sure I have it. All of my symptoms just points straight towards it. Since speaking to my mum, I’ve taken a step back and looked at my symptoms in turn and they can actually all be explained by other things and there are some symptoms that I don’t have.

For example, one of the symptoms I don’t have is that the condition tends to make people a little overweight and difficult to lose weight- I have never been overweight and I have tried to lose weight in the past and never had that much trouble (except fainting from not eating enough…).

I am taking the symptoms from Google and twisting my symptoms to fit in with the condition even though they could be entirely seperate things. I am scaring myself and stressing myself out more even though I have no medical knowledge to back up these thoughts and the only way for me to find out if I have it is to go to the doctor.

I’m sure I’m not the only one to do this, but I have realised how ridiculous it is to rely on the internet for something as serious as this. Whether I have it or not, the only way to gain piece of mind is to visit a doctor, who can do all the necessary tests to give me the real answer. Then, when I have all the facts, I can decide what to do from there.

So goodbye Dr Google, I won’t be visiting you again… I’m making an appointment with a real doctor.

Leave a Reply

