Uncategorized

Am I stubborn?

Taking today’s inspiration from the daily prompt.

“Are you stubborn as a grass stain or as easy going as a light breeze on a warm day? Tell us about the ways in which you’re stubborn — which issues make you dig your heels in and refuse to budge?”

I would like to think that I am and have always been relatively easy going. I am the type of person to change my decision pretty quickly depending on what people tell me. If someone gives me their opinion on what I should do, chances are, I will listen and it will probably change my ultimate decision.

Like I have said in previous posts see story of being a pushover, I have a hard time saying no, so I very rarely disagree with people. However on the off chance that I do disagree with someone, then this is when I let loose and become very stubborn. If I believe strongly that I am right and the other person is wrong then I will not budge. This is very rare of course as usually I doubt myself even if I am 99% certain I am correct, there is still always the 1% chance I could be wrong…

If I have fallen out with a friend (or my brother…) then I become very stubborn and will not apologise if I feel I have done nothing wrong. Saying that, I haven’t fallen out with anyone recently and now that I think about it, if I did fall out with someone now, and I feel I have done nothing wrong, I think the me now would still apologise first.

I was watching one of my favourite korean TV shows- Hello Counsellor – its a show where viewers send in their ‘concerns’ and they talk about it on the show and then the audience vote on whether they think t is a valid concern or not. In the latest episode, there was a pair of teenage twins who had not spoken to each other for 2 years. Their friends and family were put in the middle of their immature fight and you could see the stress it put on the people around them.

The MCs tried their best to encourage the twins to do things together such as look at each other in the eye for the 1st time in two years, hold hands, high five and even put their arms around each other. It took a lot of effort and you could tell that the twins were very uncomfortable but it was a step in the right direction. They didn’t speak to each other because they were both too stubborn to admit that they were wrong. It was a misunderstanding that caused them to have this fight, but if they both just apologised, they wouldn’t have lost the 2 years together.

Perhaps I was just more stubborn when I was younger and immature and wanted to keep my pride, but now that I think about it- at the age of 22, it’s very immature to hold a grudge. Even if I AM right and the other person is wrong, it does no good to argue or to be so rigid in our ways. It takes so much more to be the bigger person to reach out and be the person to move.

7 thoughts on “Am I stubborn?

Leave a Reply

