Uni

Stressing out about my degree!

So, it was the exam board meeting today which means we got our results from our january exams this evening.

I always stress out about stuff like this so you can imagine how bad I am right now. I’ve looked at my results and they’re not bad at all, although I would have definitely liked them to be a bit higher.

I’ve been trying to work out what this means for my degree and trying to work out how likely I am to get a First or 2.1 and the more I work things out, the more I am stressing myself out.

My 4-year course means that my degree is calculated according to my results from 2nd, 3rd and 4th year.

My 2nd year is not great. I only just scraped a 2.1 and I’m not happy about it. I didn’t work anywhere near as hard as I should have during 2nd year and so it will definitely drag me down, but the more I work out my results, the less likely I think I will be able to get a first in my degree overall.

It shouldn’t bother me because even if I don’t get a first, unless I screw up big time in my project, I should most definitely get a 2.1. It does bother me though. I feel so under pressure to get a first, pretty much everyone I know have got a first and everyone that did a placement at the company I did my placement with for firsts.

I think it bothers me more what other people are going to think about me not getting a first, than I am about the actual result.

I know I shouldn’t care what other people think and I should just focus on trying my hardest and then getting whatever result I get knowing that I have tried my hardest, but I can’t help but feel like I don’t think my hardest is going to be enough. ARGHHHHhhh

This is just going round and round!!!

Right…as long as I am accepted for my PhD, I will be happy. I am going to stop stressing now, and just focus on my goal of getting that PhD place!

Leave a Reply

