Family

Things I learnt in my 20s!

As it is my 22nd birthday today, I did a video this weekend to talk about some of the things I have learnt since I turned 20..

  1.  It’s OK to say No! – As someone that tries to be a ‘people pleaser’, I rarely say no. I always want to seem as if I’m keen and nice and so I just say yes and agree to do anything for people, even when it is inconvenient for me, or if it is just unfair. This means that I am a complete ‘pushover’ and I know that people take advantage of me because I always say yes. However, since I turned 20, I have realised just how much I need to stand up for myself, if I don’t respect myself, then who will?
  2. It’s OK to take a break! – I am a bit of a workaholic sometimes, I get bored when I have nothing to do and so I do immerse myself in work, but I also find that it makes me stress out a lot more because I don’t allow myself to have some chill out time. I’ve also noticed that by making myself work without a break, I’m actually a lot less productive too. I know now that I need to take time out to let my body and mind relax before getting back to work fresh and rejuvenated.
  3. Don’t worry about what others think, just Be Yourself! – I’m a worrier, and one of the things I worry about alot, is what others think of me. I’m always conscious that people are judging me, and I’m always trying to be the person that everyone likes. I’ve realised now that the only people that I should be wary of, are my friends. Saying that though, my friends will like me no matter who I am and all I need to be is myself.
  4. The friends that matter, are the ones that you will keep in touch with no matter what – I have lost touch with a lot of friends since I have left Uni and when I went on placement, I was worried that I would lose touch with my uni friends since they will be gone by the time I return from placement. I found that this was not the case, we all made an effort to keep in touch and visit each other and even now that I’m back at Uni, I’ve kept in touch with my old uni friends and my placement buddies. The friends that really matter will be there for you no matter what and even if you don’t see each other all the time, when you do see them, it’ll be like you were never apart.
  5. Its Ok to make mistakes! – Mistakes are how you learn, and it’s OK to make mistakes, as long as you learn from it.
  6. Complaining won’t get you anywhere, if there’s a problem, you need to take action to fix it! – There is no use in complaining if you don’t take action to change. The best way to change things is to act, complaining will get you nowhere.
  7. Love my parents more and more! ❤ – I have always loved my parents but now that I’m older and (hopefully) wiser, I’ve realised just how much they do for me and that no matter what, they will always love me and support me. I couldn’t be where I am now without them, and I know that they’ve always got my back. I love them more than anything and I hope that when I’m making money, I will make them proud and I can try to repay them for everything they have given me.
  8. Giving advice is easy, practicing the advice you give is hard. – I have given advice to a lot of people, but I’ve realised that whilst my advice sounds good and is very rational, it is so much harder when you are in that situation. Even though the advice I give is the rational and most sensible approach, when I find myself in that exact situation- I am not thinking rationally. When you are there in that moment, rationality goes out the window and you act with your emotions.
  9. Accept yourself- flaws and all! – I’ve never been the most self-confident of people, and there are so many things I hate about myself. Like most people out there, I always seem to focus on the things I dislike about myself and not on the things I like. If I’m honest, there aren’t that many things I actually like about myself but saying that I also need to accept that this is me. Instead of focusing on how far I am to what I want to be, I should accept the way I am and think about the positives to those flaws. I need to learn to love myself in order for other people to love me too.

Check out the video:

4 thoughts on “Things I learnt in my 20s!

Leave a Reply

