Uncategorized

Almost 22 and yet my skin is breaking out like a teen during puberty…. T_T

So I will turn 22 on monday which should mean that all those things that happen in your late teens up to 21 should be long gone.

Apparently not.

Instead I think my teens and my early twenties stages have been reversed-at least when it comes to my skin.

Me in my teens, I had no pimples!
Me in my teens, I had no pimples!

When I was in my teens, I had near-perfect skin. I had barely any pimples, and relatively clear and smooth skin. I didn’t need any make up and I was pretty happy with the way I looked.

Fast-forward to about a year ago, when I came off the contraceptive pill. Going on the pill was possibly the worst decision I have ever made in my life. I went on it as my boyfriend at the time- My first proper serious boyfriend, wanted me to go on it and at the time, I thought there was no reason for me to disagree with him.

When I came off it a year and a half ago, my body punished me for it- bigtime! I gained some weight (although this could have been due to the cakes at work) and I was hormonal, and this meant that my face broke out like crazy- big cystic acne that I had never had before. It broke out everywhere on my face, it was painful and itchy and whatever I did, nothing helped. I used all sorts of cosmetic products, tried different face masks, everything and anything and yet nothing seemed to help. The only thing that did appear to help a bit was using Aloe Vera gel straight from the plant, I used that for a week when I was in HK and by the end of the week, my skin was definitely clearer, but as we don’t have any Aloe Vera plants in the UK, I can’t use it again! T_T

Now, over a year later and I’m still feeling the effects of coming off the pill. My skin has calmed down a little so it’s not quite as bad, however I still get pimples breaking out near my mouth/chin/jawline which I have been told is where hormonal acne tends to appear and I have a lot of acne scars from the major breakout I had when I first stopped taking the pill.

I’ve been covering up the acne-scars and pimples with BB cream for uni but I’m actually starting to think that the BB cream might be another reason why it’s not clearing up fully. However, I don’t think I would be confident enough to go out with my face as it is.

This has really been a blow to my confidence, as up until a year or so ago, I could happily go out with no make-up on and feel fine, but now, I just want to hide my face.

I’m really hoping that it clears up soon, but I have realised that I am going to have to wait it out and hope for the best. 😦

In the meantime though…Can someone tell me how to return to my perfect skin days?!?! T_T

6 thoughts on “Almost 22 and yet my skin is breaking out like a teen during puberty…. T_T

  1. Awww don’t get so down about your skin I’ve seen you without makeup and you’re still beautiful! Also, my skin is a nightmare, I use cream it gets spotty, I stop moisturising it flakes! Nightmare!

    1. Lol. I just wish it would go back to the way it used to be! Dad thinks I should go to the doctors but I don’t want them to prescribe me any drugs cause I really don’t want to have to rely on drugs to sort this out!

      1. Hmm I don’t think I’d like to go on any drugs for it since it was drugs that started it! It’ll probably get better in summer and HK, this weather can’t be helping! πŸ™‚

    1. Lol I’ll try not to! Although we just ran my structure j found through some software to predict the nmr shift to see if it matches up with what we got for the solid state nmr and it looks like it doesn’t match?!? So we’re wondering if I have the wrong structure but it works so well with the diffraction pattern I got… So I dunno what’s going on 😦

Leave a Reply

