Uncategorized

Confidence building!

If you’ve read some of my earlier blogposts I’m sure you know that I’m not the most confident person.

I put on this facade that I am uber confident and try really hard to hide how nervous I am but inside I am full of fear.

Fear of what?- well I don’t even know myself… perhaps its fear that people won’t like me, fear of what people are thinking about me, if they’re judging me…

Fear of other people.

I’ve been like this for a while now and it’s really made making new friends difficult. I constantly make excuses to myself for why I can’t go to a social event, whether it’s because I’m busy or it’s too expensive to travel, when in reality it’s because I’m just afraid.

I don’t have the confidence to go up to a new person and speak to them so going to a social event where I will have to do that really scares the hell out of me. Even if there is something I really want to go to.. I end up not going because I just don’t know how I ill act around other people.

I’ve been thinking for a while that when I move to HK, its going to be a whole new start and I can become a completely different person but I’ve realised that I can’t keep telling myself that I will change later, or it will be better later.

I have to change now.

So, I’ve made 2014 my year to change. Putting myself out there, doing things that I love to do and not caring about what others are going to say about me. I’ve been going to society meets and I’ve found that it’s not as bad as I thought it would be. People are actually much friendlier than I imagined in my head!

I can already feel my confidence levels shooting up and I feel a lot happier, and I’ve had some really great words of encouragement from friends and family which have just made me realise how silly I was to have all these doubts and self-confidence issues when I have such awesome people around me already- they wouldn’t be here if they didn’t like me! 🙂

So heres my video on how I’m taking the first steps to building my confidence and I invite you to do the same!

2 thoughts on “Confidence building!

Leave a Reply

