Uncategorized

My 2013 Recap

Its finally New Years Eve and I can’t believe how quickly 2013 has gone! Its been an incredible year and I can’t wait to see what 2014 brings!

So here are a few of my memories from this year:

January 2013- I spent the new year in HK with my parents and got to be with my mum for the first time in about 5 years for her birthday. It felt so nice to be with both of my parents as it’s been a while and every time I have to say goodbye to them I just miss them so much.

2013-01-03 08.52.07

February 2013- I turned 21!!! I didn’t end up having a ‘crazy’ 21st, instead it ended up being a bit of a boring and quiet day with some of my friends, although I actually got quite upset because it was another birthday spent away from my family, but my mum left me a lovely voice message to wish me a happy birthday and it made me feel very loved and happy ^_^

21711_10151399078951263_1891141724_n

March 2013- This was the month where there was a ridiculous amount of snow. It was meant to be the worst snow for 30 years and I remember that riding in the car in those conditions were very scary! I think the march snow must be why we didn’t get any christmas snow 😦

April 2013- April was fairly busy, what with preparing for exams, and finishing off my project report etc, but I had a lot of fun too. My friends and I took the plunge in dying our hair at home for the first time, but only with semi-permanent hair-dye…. Unfortunately (or maybe fortunately) the dye didn’t seem to come out very well, so our hair didn’t really look any different.

2013-04-07 09.56.32

May 2013- This is when my dad come over from HK, so I was finally reunited with my daddy!!! ^_^ Yay, so happy to have Papa Yip with me, although it would be even better with Mama Yip!

Dad cutting Rays hair.. hilarious!
Dad cutting Rays hair.. hilarious!

June 2013- The dreaded Muscle Finger!!! In June, we went to the local ‘club’ where they were holding something called ‘Muscle finger’ We were all curious as to what this would be, but it was not what we thought. It was just…noise.. it was awful! However, a night out with friends is always good, and we ended the night with some greasy fried food sat on the benches in the town centre.

2013-06-30 00.17.27

July 2013- This was the beginning of the end 😦 At the end of June/ beginning of July the time for our placements began to come to an end. Lots of people were leaving to return to Uni and so we had a lot of leaving meals/dos and a lot of sad goodbyes. As one of the last students to leave, I think it was actually worse to leave last as we had to say goodbye to so many people before us, whereas those that left at the beginning just had to say one big goodbye rather than dragging it on. July was also the time I moved all of my stuff back to Somerset, and I had a LOOOOT of stuff…. a whole car full, and when I say the car was full i mean there was literally no more space to fit anything.

2013-07-06 10.56.53

August 2013- Dad and I moved into the Cardiff house!!! Oh and I took my exams – they were awful by the way, distance learning is no easy task… especially when lecturers don’t communicate with each other and even less with their students… oh well, I still passed the year!

September 2013- HK and Seoul! I went back to HK in september 2013 to do interviews and look at universities for my PhD application, and it was an amazing experience, I had never been to the universities in HK so it was really nice to see how pretty they were inside the campus. Seoul was also really cool as I wanted to go to Korea for ages so I was so excited when we booked our places on the tour. I just wished we could have had more time to spend there and some free time for us to explore on our own. I will definitely go to Korea again but next time I will go without being on a package tour.

2013-09-19 16.15.34

October 2013- Start of Uni- not much to say here, October was the start back at Uni- meeehhh

November 2013- This was a month for friendship as not only did I get to see my old Cardiff Chemistry friends, but I also got to see some of my old placement friends again. I miss having both sets of friends around as I feel quite lonely sometimes here on my own, when last year I was always surrounded by people, however it’s made me appreciate them a lot more. πŸ™‚

December 2013- Christmas and new year and then it all happens again!!

Leave a Reply

